Andrew Smith's Blog

My name is Andrew. Come and have a look inside my life and watch me share what is on my heart.

The Dog that Talked to God and The Cat that God Sent By Jim Kraus Blog Tour and Book Review

My Thoughts on The Dog that Talked to God:

The main character, Mary Fassler is an editor and writer. Her husband, Jacob and her son get into a terrible car accident and is tragically killed. She decided to adopt a dog named Rufus. She soon discovered that her dog can have conversations with her. Rufus begins to talk to her about her dating life and how it’s time to get back out there and try to find love again.

I would recommend this delightful book to anyone who is a dog lover or who enjoys pets. I have grew up with dogs my whole life and I immensely connected with this story. The book displayed the unconditionally love of a dog and how they truly are “man’s best friend”. I loved how the author wrote the character of Rufus to be like God. Mary unloaded all of her fears, stress, doubts, and her feelings by talking through them with the dog and the dog assisted her in working through her emotions. I could use a dog like this in my own personal dating life! The book contained a message of hope that things can turn around even after your world falls apart. If you’re looking for a book that will inspire you to keep believing that good things can still occur, then this book is for you!  


My Thoughts on The Cat that God Sent:

The main character, Jake Wilkerson is a young pastor who finds a stray cat with a torn in his paw. He takes the cat to the vet and meets the rude veterinarian, named Emma. Jake lets the veterinarian pick out a name for the cat and she named him Petey. She can’t stand Christians and she claims that they are all narrow-minded and judgmental. Jake decided to go on a number of dates with her. Then Jake meets Tassy who is a young runaway and she is needing help. Will Jake be able to change and lead Emma to Christ?


I would recommend this outstanding book to anyone who has a special fondness of cats and pets. I haven’t had any cats as pets but I have enjoyed playing with my grandparents cats. I loved the idea of having a cat on a mission that God has sent to complete His extraordinary purposes in their lives. The book covered a difficult topic that some believers struggle with, “Should believers date non-believers?” I immeasurably appreciated that this book was written for today’s times. This book will lead readers into believing that pets can vastly impact us and be a treasure sent from Heaven!

“I received the books for free from Litfuse Publicity Group/ Abingdon Press for this review”.

About The Cat That God Sent: 

Meet Petey, your not-so-average cat-on a mission from God

Disillusioned young pastor, Jake Wilkerson, has just arrived at his new assignment in the small rural church of Coudersport, Pennsylvania. Also new on the scene is Petey, a cat of unknown origins and breed-but of great perception.

As Jake sets about doing the business of ministry, Petey's continued interference brings chaos to the community of curiously off and eccentric people-residents like the faith-avoiding veterinarian Sally Grainger and Tassy, a young runaway with a secret. An expert at hiding his fears, Jake wonders if all this-and the cat to boot-is more than he can handle. What is Petey's real "mission"? Perhaps something larger than Jake---or even Petey---can possibly know.

Purchase a copy:

More about The Dog That Talked to God:

Be sure to check out Jim's The Dog That Talked to God which was nominated as an ECPA book of the Year (2013).

Publishers Weekly said, "Judge this book by its cover... and be charmed."

"The Dog That Talked to God is a moving and powerful read, inspirational long after the last page has been turned."
- New York Journal of Books
"Jim Kraus has written a funny, heartfelt novel in the tradition of Garth Stein and John Grogan. For a long time dogs have been man's best friend. It only made sense one would finally come along to save our souls." 
- Rob Stennett author, Homemade Haunting and The
Almost True Story Of Ryan Fisher
"I loved this story. Quirky and unusual, this unique tale wove a spell around me and drew me in. It wasn't what I expected at all, and when I turned the last page, it left me wanting more." 
- Ane Mulligan, senior editor Novel Rocket
"Anyone who has loved a pet knows the sense of connection, of deep familiarity and acceptance, and even of a possible spiritual awareness. In The Dog That Talked to God, Jim Kraus offers a hard-to-put down story of Rufus, a miniature schnauzer who make a giant difference... Kraus has created an enjoyable and often hilarious read. Highly recommended."
- Congregational Libraries Today
Recently widowed Mary Fassler buys a Miniature Schnauzer, Rufus, and her world is turned sideways in the midst of her grief. It seems that Rufus speaks. And not just to her. He also talks to God. When Rufus begins sharing advice that could result in major changes, Mary gets the feeling the pooch might not be steering her in the right direction. Or, is she just afraid to take the leap and discover something she desperately needs? Only Rufus...and God...knows.

Purchase a copy:

Meet Jim:
Jim Kraus grew up in Western Pennsylvania and has spent the last twenty years as a vice president of a major Christian publishing house. He has written more than twenty books and novels, including the best-selling The Dog That Talked to God. He and his family live outside of Chicago with a sweet miniature Schnauzer and an ill-tempered Siberian cat named (of course) Petey.

Read what others are saying:



Post a Comment